Results for State and Congressional Races

Democratic Lieutenant Governor Gavin Newsom will be the 40th Governor of California. During his victory speech, Newsom said that now is the time for decency, facts, trust and truth.

In state legislative races, incument State Senator Mike McGuire and incument State Representative Cecilia Aguiar-Curry will retain their seats.

In Congressional races, Senator Dianne Feinstein is projected to defeat fellow Democrat Kevin de Leon, maintaining her hold on a seat she has occupied since 1992.

U.S. Representatives Mike Thompson and John Garmendi will be in the majority when they return to Washington D.C. as Democrats have regaind control of the House. The GOP kept control of the U.S. Senate.

As for state ballot measures: Voters rejected a repeal of the gas tax. Voters also rejected Prop. 10, which would have expanded rent control.